FIFA's "The Best" trophy. Source:

Matildas striker Sam Kerr and Arsenal WFC manager Joe Montemurro are among the nominees for The Best FIFA Football Awards 2019.

The Best Awards, previously known as the FIFA World Player of the Year, are decided by polling four groups – selected football media, national team captains, national team coaches, and the general public – and equally weighting their votes to select a winner. Previous winners of The Best Womens’ Player include USWNT veteran Carli Lloyd, Dutch winger Lieke Martens, and Brazilian striker Marta.

Montemurro, fresh from winning the 2018-19 FAWSL with Arsenal, becomes just the second Australian manager shortlisted for the prestigious award, following former Matildas manager Alen Stajcic’s nomination in 2018. Past winners Reynald Pedros of Olympique Lyonnais and Sarina Weigman of the Netherlands national team have once again been listed, as well as outgoing USWNT manager Jill Ellis, England’s Phil Neville, and Italy’s Milena Bertolini.

W-League and NWSL Golden Boot winner Kerr, who has been nominated each of the past two years, is named alongside Chicago teammate and 2019 Women’s World Cup winner Julie Ertz, as well as USWNT stars Megan Rapinoe, Rose Lavelle, and Alex Morgan. European champion Olympique Lyonnais also dominates the shortlist, with four players nominated.

Voting is open until August 19 via the FIFA website, and winners will be named at the Teatro alla Scala in Milan on September 23.

The Best FIFA Women’s Player nominees

Lucy Bronze (England) – Olympique Lyonnais
Julie Ertz (USA) – Chicago Red Stars
Caroline Graham Hansen (Norway) – Wolfsburg / Barcelona
Ada Hegerberg (Norway) – Olympique Lyonnais
Amandine Henry (France) – Olympique Lyonnais
Sam Kerr (Australia) – Chicago Red Stars / Perth Glory
Rose Lavelle (USA) – Washington Spirit
Vivianne Miedema (Netherlands) – Arsenal
Alex Morgan (USA) – Orlando Pride
Megan Rapinoe (USA) – Reign FC
Wendie Renard (France) – Olympique Lyonnais
Ellen White (England) – Birmingham City / Manchester City

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach nominees

Milena Bertolini (Italy) – Italy national team
Jill Ellis (USA) – USA national team
Peter Gerhardsson (Sweden) – Sweden national team
Futoshi Ikeda (Japan) – Japan U20 national team
Antonia Is (Spain) – Spain U17 national team
Joe Montemurro (Australia) – Arsenal
Phil Neville (England) – England national team
Reynald Peyros (France) – Olympique Lyonnais
Paul Riley (England) – North Carolina Courage
Sarina Weigman (Netherlands) – Netherlands national team