Matildas and Chicago Red Stars striker Sam Kerr has made the 55-player shortlist for the FIFPro Women’s World XI.

FIFPro is the worldwide union for professional footballers, currently consisting of more than 60,000 male and female players. 65 national associations are members of FIFPro, with five more expected to join in the next few years.

Starting in 2015, the FIFPro Women’s World XI is an award voted on by fellow professional players. More than 3,500 athletes picked their favourite starting XI over the past year: 1 goalkeeper, 4 defenders, 3 midfielders, and 3 forwards. The final World XI is made up of the 11 players who received the most votes in their position.

Unsurprisingly, the USA dominate this year’s nominations, with 14 players making the 55-player shortlist. The USA is followed by England and the Netherlands, each of which boast 7 nominated players.

At club level, Olympique Lyonnais is the club with the highest number of nominated players at 13. Barcelona and Paris Saint-Germain follow with 4 each.

Last year’s FIFPro World XI was Hedvig Lindahl (SWE), Lucy Bronze (ENG), Nilla Fischer (SWE), Irene Paredes (ESP), Wendie Renard (FRA), Camille Abily (FRA), Dzsenifer Marozsan (GER), Marta (BRA), Pernille Harder (DEN), Lieke Martens (NED), and Alex Morgan (USA).

Just 18 players have been voted into all three previous 55-player shortlists: Lucy Bronze (ENG), Kadeisha Buchanan (CAN), Nilla Fischer (SWE), Pernille Harder (DEN), Ada Hegerberg (NOR), Amandine Henry (FRA), Jennifer Hermoso (ESP), Steph Houghton (ENG), Saki Kumagai (JAP), Eugenie Le Sommer (FRA), Hedvig Lindahl (SWE), Carli Lloyd (USA), Amel Majri (FRA), Dzsenifer Marozsan (GER), Vivianne Miedema (NED), Alex Morgan (USA), and Wendie Renard (FRA).

The FIFPro World XI will be revealed on Monday September 23 during the Best Football Awards in Milan. It’ll be the first time that both the men’s and women’s World XI are presented on the same stage.

Below are the 55 players who made the 2019 short list (in alphabetical order):


Sarah Bouhaddi (France, Olympique Lyonnais)
Christiane Endler (Chile, Paris Saint-Germain)
Hedvig Lindahl (Sweden, VfL Wolfsburg/Chelsea)
Alyssa Naeher (USA, Chicago Red Stars)
Sari van Veenendaal (The Netherlands, Atletico)


Millie Bright (England, Chelsea)
Lucy Bronze (England, Olympique Lyonnais, photo)
Kadeisha Buchanan (Canada, Olympique Lyonnais)
Abby Dahlkemper (USA, North Carolina Courage)
Crystal Dunn (USA, North Carolina Courage)
Nilla Fischer (Sweden, Linkopings/VfL Wolfsburg)
Sara Gama (Italy, Juventus)
Stefanie van der Gragt (The Netherlands, FC Barcelona)
Alex Greenwood (England, Olympique Lyonnais)
Stephanie Houghton (England, Manchester City)
Ali Krieger (USA, Orlando Pride)
Saki Kumagai (Japan, Olympique Lyonnais)
Amel Majri (France, Olympique Lyonnais)
Griedge Mbock Olympique Lyonnais
Maren Mjelde (Norway, Chelsea)
Kelley O’Hara (USA, Utah Royals)
Wendie Renard (France, Olympique Lyonnais)
Michelle Romero (Venezuela, Deportivo La Coruna)
Camila Saez (Chile, Rayo Vallecano)
Becky Sauerbrunn (USA, Utah Royals)


Andressa Alves (Brazil, AS Roma)
Kosovare Asllani (Sweden, CD Tacon, Linkopings)
Sara Daebritz (Germany, Paris Saint-Germain)
Danielle van de Donk (The Netherlands, Arsenal)
Julie Ertz (USA, Chicago Red Stars)
Formiga (Brazil, Paris Saint-Germain)
Jackie Groenen (The Netherlands, Manchester United)
Amandine Henry (France, Olympique Lyonnais)
Lindsey Horan (USA, Portland Thorns)
Rose Lavelle (USA, Washington Spirit, photo)
Carli Lloyd (USA, Sky Blue)
Dzsenifer Marozsan (Germany, Olympique Lyonnais)
Samantha Mewis (USA, North Carolina Courage)
Sherida Spitse (The Netherlands, Valerenga)
Keira Walsh (England, Manchester City)


Oriana Altuve (Venezuela, Rayo Vallecano)
Caroline Graham Hansen (Norway, FC Barcelona)
Pernille Harder (Denmark, VfL Wolfburg)
Tobin Heath (USA, Portland Thorns)
Ada Hegerberg (Norway, Olympique Lyonnais)
Jennifer Hermoso (Spain, FC Barcelona)
Sam Kerr (Australia, Chicago Red Stars)
Eugenie Le Sommer (France, Olympique Lyonnais)
Lieke Martens (The Netherlands, FC Barcelona)
Vivianne Miedema (The Netherlands, Arsenal, photo)
Alex Morgan (USA, Orlando Pride)
Nikita Parris (England, Olympique Lyonnais)
Megan Rapinoe (USA, Reign FC)
Marta Vieira da Silva (Brazil, Orlando Pride)
Ellen White (England, Manchester City)