(Photo by Mark Metcalfe/Getty Images)
(Photo by Mark Metcalfe/Getty Images)

It’s now less than a week before the FIFA council votes and decides on the host nation(s) for the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023.

Two bids remain after the Japan Football Association withdrew their bid on Monday June 22nd.

  • AsOne2023 – the joint bid between Football Federation Australia and New Zealand Football
  • Colombian Football Association

How the Decision is made

35 votes – there are 37 FIFA council members, but two from bidding nations are ineligible to vote.

All eligible bids have been reviewed and the Bid Evaluation Report has been published with average technical evaluation scores noted as follows:

  • Australia / New Zealand – 4.1
  • Colombia – 2.8

Following any conflict of interest declarations, each bidding member association has a maximum of 10 minutes to present their bid, following which FIFA Secretary General, Fatma Samoura, will provide a short report which includes the summary of results.

Then the voting commences with each member of the FIFA Council, including the FIFA President, having one ordinary vote.

Following the conclusion of each ballot, if any bid receives more than 50% of votes [simple majority], they would be awarded the right to host the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 competition.

If a simple majority is not reached by any bid, the bid with the lowest number of votes in will be eliminated, following which a further ballot would be undertaken.

Beyond 90 will cover the event on twitter and via a zoom meeting open for all to join. More details to be shared soon.

The FIFA council meeting is scheduled to commence on Thursday June 25th at 15:00 CEST (11pm AEST), with the bidding process as the final item on the agenda. 

Cheryl is Beyond 90's Editor in Chief.She has been involved in the coverage of women's football for 6.5 years. Before becoming a co-founder of Beyond 90, she was a writer, contributing editor and finally Editor-in-Chief of The Women’s Game. In that time Cheryl has covered the 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup, the AFC Women's Asian Cup (2014, 2018) and six seasons of the W-League.