Image credit:

Eight member associations, including Australia, have confirmed their participation in the bidding process for the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023. It will be the first edition of the tournament that will feature 32 teams.

The member associations are:

  • Argentinian Football Association
  • Football Federation Australia
  • Brazilian Football Association
  • Colombian Football Association
  • Japan Football Association
  • Korea Football Association (expressing interest in a joint bid with DPR Korea Football Association)
  • New Zealand Football
  • South African Football Association

Previously Belgium and Bolivia had expressed interest but are no longer included.

The bidding member associations now have until 13 December 2019 to submit their bid book, the signed hosting agreement and all other hosting and bidding documents.

Member associations are able to join an existing bid, meaning this is not necessarily the final list. Could it pave the way for FFA and New Zealand Football to combine their bids?